Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Suspicious minds

As part of my perpetual search for work, I regularly scan Craigslist for potential projects. More often than not, the ads posted are for jobs that pay poorly (if they pay at all) or the posts are intentionally misleading. One that I saw today falls into the latter category:


Concept & Content Strategy
- Work with business owner(s) and Director to conceptualize content that will advance the company's merchandising, business, marketing, or branding objectives.
- Has a deep and thorough understanding of those objectives, and can translate those into clear executable steps.
- Defines what information is needed for a successful customer experience.
- Collaborate with and set content direction for team and agencies.
- Develops standards and tone/voice for brands.
- Assess existing and proposed content.
- Coordinates content development; establishes efficient workflow processes.
- Highly aware of competitor best practices.

Writing and Editing
- Ensures that content is consistent and effective across all mediums/channels.
- Review agency and team efforts and provide effective direction and feedback.
- Work with functions across the company to ensure good communications and foster a collaborative work environment.
- Often looks for areas that need improvement, and is able to drive implementation of changes and solutions.
- Able to write hands-on as needed.
Two things excited me about this post: it was listed as being "part time" and the salary range was right up my alley. However, I was suspicious about the lack of detail related to what info was expected from the candidates who might be interested. Why would they post so much detail about the position, and then nothing about the qualifications of the applicants or what they should send to demonstrate their experience (resume, writing samples, etc)?

My curiosity got the best of me, so I replied. In my reply, I requested more information about the company and asked what information they wanted from interested applicants. I received this reply back almost instantaneously:
All applicants are required to post they [sic] resumes first.


If you have already done so then the available jobs are
located under the following Reference Codes:

Reference Code: 096772
Reference Code: 2568
Reference Code: SJC19605
Reference Code: 275501
Reference Code: 2877
Reference Code: NJ-2734
Reference Code: MD.0800835

The fact that his reply came back faster than he could have typed it, coupled with the typo, the long list of position reference codes, and the requirement of posting a resume before getting more information about the position replaced my curiosity with suspicion. It's all just a little too "cloak-and-dagger" for my tastes, so I will not be pursuing this "opportunity".


Suzanne Ledo said...

Yep, sounds like a scam to me...
Lots of that going around. :-(

writtenexpressions said...

I fear you're right--there is a lot of that going around . . .


Nevertheless, I will endeavor not to become jaded!

Anonymous said...

I applied for one of these jobs and received the same email. Unfortunately, I sent a resume and cover letter to the Craigslist post, like any other ad. I'm supposing that people are starting to abuse Craigslist, since it's free. What a shame.

writtenexpressions said...

Sorry to hear you had a similar experience, but I'm glad I'm not the only one who got duped . . . unfortunately, they got me twice. I didn't send my resume the first time, but the 2nd time I did (to the craigslist email, not to postresumehere.com).

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Anonymous said...

Yes. Got the same exact reply from a a similar ad on CL. The postings and the website are glorified spam for the book RESUME MAGIC. I'm going to log on to Amazon and lambaste the author for using such an underhanded marketing gimmick.

writtenexpressions said...

Thanks for the info!

Anonymous said...

The typo about they/their on the auto reply has been fixed.

I've set up a separate Gmail account for Craigslist and a couple of blogs. I give my qualifications in general terms and let them know that due to the fraud on Craigslist, I will respond with complete information after they provide information and I can research. Why would you forward a complete resume right away, knowing that scum are out there?

I found your blog while researching postresumehere.com tonight.

writtenexpressions said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
writtenexpressions said...

I guess I'm just a trusting soul . . . plus there's nothing in my resume that I am afraid to have floating around out there. If somebody wants to find me, there are easier and more direct ways (a phonebook, for example) than getting their hands on my resume.

mike said...

I just received the same preposterous e-mail. A quick google search of postresumehere.com turned up your blog. Thanks for confirming my suspicions.